The Most Wonderful Time of the Year by Joanna Bolouri

Most Wonderful Time of the Year Book Cover Most Wonderful Time of the Year
Joanna Bolouri
Women's fiction
Quercus Books
October 20, 2016
Kindle/Paperback
416
Netgalley

A hilarious and heartwarming Christmas comedy. Perfect for fans of Fiona Collins, Debbie Johnson & Cate Woods.

Thirty-eight year old Emily has a satisfying job, fab friends and, most importantly, a wonderful flat, exactly 411 miles away from the judgemental, crazy, interfering family she reluctantly sees twice a year. In fact, the only minor stress in her life is her twenty-something neighbour Evan and his penchant for flirting, loud music and even louder sex . . . but he's nothing she can't handle.

Emily also has a boyfriend called Robert and it's going really well. So well, in fact, that this year Emily is hoping to take him home for Christmas to meet her family. Finally she won't be subject to five days of nosy questions from her parents and pity looks from her younger married siblings.

But when Robert breaks up with her a week before Christmas, Emily is gutted. How on earth is she going to face her family now? Enlisting the help of party boy Evan (in exchange for one month's rent and the use of her convertible) Emily is determined to take Robert home for Christmas come hell or high water, even if it isn't the real Robert . . .

You know how I love a good ol’ festive read! Well this from start to finish is a laugh out loud funny, highly entertaining, chuckle fest of Christmas spirit wrapped up in 416 pages. I absolutely bloomin’ ding dong merrily on high LOVED IT!

Emily is the sort of character knocking into her late 30’s with not much of a successful love life, she has a mother that would happily marry her off (think Miranda’s Mum in the BBC series and that’s who she reminds me of!) and a family that rip it out of her and wind her up at every available opportunity. Still, its Christmas and for once she’s in a loving relationship of 8 months and is ready to bring home her man for a four day Christmas extravaganza with said loopy family! However, dear old Robert is not quite what he seems and after getting heinously drunk, Emily pays the next door neighbour Evan (who she detests) to pose as Robert for Christmas.

It’s a brilliant story and all the characters in this book are pure GENIUS! If I wasn’t laughing I was sat with an insane smile on my face whilst reading it! The humour is sharp and witty and even though this is the first of Joanna’s books that I have read, I am going to be reading the rest for sure! Of all the Christmas reads I’ve read so far these past few months this is by far my favourite! A real Christmas cracker!!

Leave a Reply